Legislative Assembly of British Columbia crest


September 7, 2011

Finance Committee Announces Budget 2012 Consultation Process

VICTORIA – The Select Standing Committee on Finance and Government Services announced today its plans for conducting province-wide budget consultations. Public hearings will begin on September 15, 2011 once the Budget 2012 Consultation Paper has been received by the all-party Committee.

“We encourage interested individuals and organizations to take part in this important process,” said Committee Chair Rob Howard. “The budget consultations provide an excellent opportunity for the public to express their views regarding next year’s provincial budget.”

This year’s consultation process will include public hearings in 13 communities, and two videoconference hearings covering an additional eight locations.  The public is invited to attend the hearings or participate by sending a written submission, responding to the online survey, or submitting an audio or video file.

“We look forward to hearing the opinions and priorities of British Columbians for next year’s provincial budget,” said Deputy Chair Doug Donaldson. Hearings will be in the following locations:


September 15

Fort Nelson

September 19


September 20

Prince George

September 20

Williams Lake

September 21


September 21


September 22

Video-conference sessions

September 22

Terrace, Grand Forks, Nelson and Osoyoos

Video-conference sessions

October 5

Dawson Creek, Fort St. John, Prince Rupert, and Golden


October 7


October 11


October 12


October 12


October 13


October 14

Registration for the public hearings and video-conference sessions opens on Thursday, September 8 at 1:00 p.m (PDT). To register, please contact committee staff by phone 1-877-428-8337, or by e-mail: FinanceCommittee@leg.bc.ca. For more information on the budget consultation process, please visit the Committee’s website at www.leg.bc.ca/budgetconsultations. The call for public input closes on Friday, October 14, and the Committee will complete their report by Tuesday, November 15.


The members of the Select Standing Committee on Finance and Government Services are:


Rob Howard, MLA (Richmond Centre), Chair

Pat Pimm, MLA (Peace River North)

Doug Donaldson, MLA (Stikine), Deputy Chair

Bruce Ralston, MLA (Surrey-Whalley)

Bill Bennett, MLA (Kootney West)

Bill Routley, MLA (Cowichan Valley)

Mable Elmore, MLA (Vancouver-Kensington)

Dr. Moira Stilwell, MLA (Vancouver-Langara)

Dave S. Hayer, MLA (Surrey-Tynehead)

Jane Thornthwaite, MLA (North Vancouver-Seymour)


For further Information:


Susan Sourial

Tel: 250 356-2933 (collect)

Committees Clerk

Toll-free: 1-877-428-8337

Room 224, Parliament Buildings

Fax: 250 356-8172

Victoria, B.C. V8V 1X4

E-mail: FinanceCommitee@leg.bc.ca