

Media Release

April 11, 2024

Agriculture Committee releases report on carbon sequestration

VICTORIA – The Select Standing Committee on Agriculture, Fish and Food released its report today on carbon sequestration and related technology in BC's agricultural sector.

The committee makes 12 recommendations to promote the adoption of practices and technologies that sequester carbon, reduce barriers to government programs, and streamline data collection.

"The committee recognized that many agricultural practices that sequester carbon also have other benefits for producers," said committee chair Rick Glumac. "Our recommendations support increasing education, collaboration, and incentives for farmers and ranchers to adopt these practices and related technologies."

"We heard that some farmers, ranchers, and producers face barriers to accessing programs that support carbon sequestration," added deputy chair Ian Paton. "With our recommendations, committee members aimed to make it easier for people working in the agriculture sector to adopt practices that best fit their operations, rather than adding prescriptive requirements."

"Committee members also agreed that partnerships and knowledge-sharing between farmers, agritech innovators, non-profit organizations, academia, and government have a vital role to play in carbon sequestration, agritech development, and data collection," said Glumac.

In the course of its work, the committee received briefings from ministries, organizations, and individuals with relevant expertise. The committee also held a public consultation with opportunities to provide written input or speak at a public meeting. During this process, the committee heard from 32 participants. More information about the committee's work, along with its report, can be found at www.leg.bc.ca/cmt/aff.

The members of the committee are:

Rick Glumac, MLA, Port Moody-Coquitlam (Chair); Ian Paton, MLA, Delta South (Deputy Chair); Susie Chant, MLA, North Vancouver-Seymour; Megan Dykeman, MLA, Langley East; Coralee Oakes, MLA, Cariboo North; Kelli Paddon, MLA, Cariboo North; Kelli Paddon, MLA, Chilliwack-Kent; Roly Russell, MLA, Boundary-Similkameen; Aman Singh, MLA, Richmond-Queensborough; and Jordan Sturdy, MLA, West Vancouver-Sea to Sky For further information: Karan Riarh Committee Clerk Room 224 Parliament Buildings Victoria BC V8V 1X4 T 250-356-2933 Toll Free in BC 1-877-428-8337 Fax: 250-356-8172 AgFishFoodCommittee@leg.bc.ca