Home > Previous Parliaments > 38th Parliament, 5th Session > Members > Member Biography

Go To Advanced Search Page

38th Parliament Members
at dissolution on April 14, 2009

Photo of MLA

MLA: Maurine Karagianis


Elected: 2005


Maurine Karagianis was elected as the MLA for Esquimalt-Metchosin on May 17, 2005.

Maurine serves as Opposition Critic for Transportation.

Maurine was elected as a municipal councillor in Esquimalt in 1996, and re-elected in 1999 and again in 2002.

Starting in 1998, she served three years with the provincial government as an assistant in the Ministry of Social Services and in the Ministry of Transportation and Highways.

Maurine recently ran a consulting business that worked with non-profit organizations and First Nations communities to create affordable housing.

Maurine chaired the Intermunicipal Committee from 1999 to 2002. She helped create and chaired the CRD Arts Committee until 2005, developed a regional arts strategy and led Esquimalt 's Public Arts Policy.

As a long-standing Director of the Veins of Life Watershed Society, Maurine has worked in support of environmental stewardship for the Gorge Waterway and watershed protection in the Capital Region.

Maurine has an extensive business background with 15 years in the fashion industry in retail, wholesale and import/export from South East Asia; and 10 years in publishing for the tourism market and international motorcycle industry including trade show and TV production.