

MEDIA RELEASE

August 3, 2023

Finance Committee releases report on Budget 2024 consultation

VICTORIA - The Select Standing Committee on Finance and Government Services released its report on the Budget 2024 consultation today.

This year, the Committee's consultation began on May 25 and concluded on June 16. During the consultation, the Committee held 16 public hearings in 11 communities across BC, as well as virtually using the Zoom videoconferencing platform. The Committee heard 375 presentations and received 387 written submissions. The report provides a comprehensive summary of the priorities, concerns, and ideas shared by British Columbians as well as the Committee's conclusions and 166 recommendations for the next provincial budget.

"The Committee is grateful to everyone who took the time to share their views, including many individual British Columbians who had the courage to share their personal experiences," said Committee Chair Mike Starchuk. "We heard clearly that additional investments and actions are needed to address climate change, housing supply, access to health care, including mental health and addictions, and affordability."

"British Columbians also highlighted the energy transition, labour shortages, the regulatory environment, and challenges faced by international students," added Deputy Chair Tom Shypitka. "Members greatly valued being able to hear directly from British Columbians about these issues and ways we can move the province forward."

The Select Standing Committee on Finance and Government Services is one of ten permanent parliamentary committees established to undertake work on behalf of the Legislative Assembly. The Committee, currently made up of MLAs from government and the official opposition, holds an annual public consultation to hear from British Columbians about their ideas and priorities for the next provincial budget.

The report is available at: at: www.leg.bc.ca/cmt/finance

The members of the committee are:
Mike Starchuk, MLA, Surrey-Cloverdale (Chair);
Tom Shypitka, MLA, Kootenay East (Deputy Chair);
Bruce Banman, MLA, Abbotsford South
Susie Chant, MLA, North Vancouver-Seymour;
George Chow, MLA, Vancouver-Fraserview;
Ronna-Rae Leonard, MLA, Courtenay-Comox;
Ben Stewart, MLA, Kelowna West;
Adam Walker, MLA, Parksville-Qualicum; and
Henry Yao, MLA, Richmond South Centre

For further information:
Karan Riarh
Committee Clerk
Room 224
Parliament Buildings Victoria BC
V8V 1X4
FinanceCommittee@leg.bc.ca