Parliamentary Committees

Career Advertisement: Representative for Children and Youth


Special Committee to Appoint a Representative for Children and Youth

Chair: Don McRae, MLA (Comox Valley)
Deputy Chair: Michelle Mungall, MLA (Nelson-Creston)

Representative for Children and Youth


The Legislative Assembly of British Columbia has established an all-party Special Committee to Appoint a Representative for Children and Youth. The Committee is mandated to unanimously recommend to the Legislative Assembly the appointment of a Representative as provided by the Representative for Children and Youth Act.

The Representative is a non-partisan Officer of the Legislature who provides advocacy services to children, young adults and families regarding designated services; monitors, reviews, and audits the effectiveness of these services; and reviews, investigates, and reports on the critical injuries and deaths of children.

An expert in administrative and procedural fairness, the Representative leads a team of over 56 dedicated staff, with headquarters in Victoria, and regional offices in Burnaby and Prince George.

The successful applicant will be recognized as a person of integrity and standing within his or her professional community, with demonstrated leadership and collaborative problem-solving skills, experience leading sensitive and complex investigations, and a solid record of accomplishment in public or private sector administration. The successful applicant should also possess experience working productively with indigenous individuals, families and communities. In addition, the successful applicant will have a good understanding of the role, responsibilities and activities

of the Office of the Representative for Children and Youth, its relationship to the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia, and knowledge of the provincial child serving system.

The appointment is for a term of five years, and may be renewed for one additional five-year term. The salary for the position is equal to the salary paid to a Chief Judge of the Provincial Court of British Columbia.

Applications should be received by email, fax or mail at the address below no later than Friday, May 6, 2016. Although the Special Committee appreciates the interest of all applicants, only those who are invited for an interview will be contacted. All applications received will be held in confidence.

For further information, please visit our website or contact:

Kate Ryan-Lloyd, Deputy Clerk and Clerk of Committees
Parliamentary Committees OfficeRoom 224, Parliament BuildingsVictoria BC V8V 1X4
Tel: 250.356.2933
Toll-free in BC: 1.877.428.8337
Fax: 250.356.8172