Parliamentary Committees

Career Advertisement: Information and Privacy Commissioner


Special Committee to Appoint an Information and Privacy Commissioner

Chair: Sam Sullivan, MLA (Vancouver-False Creek)
Deputy Chair: Doug Routley, MLA (Nanaimo-North Cowichan)

Information and Privacy Commissioner


The Legislative Assembly of British Columbia has established an all-party Special Committee to Appoint an Information and Privacy Commissioner. The Committee has a mandate to unanimously recommend the appointment of an Information and Privacy Commissioner as provided by the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (RSBC 1996, c. 65).

The Commissioner is a non-partisan Officer of the Legislature who provides independent oversight and enforcement of B.C.'s freedom of information, privacy, and personal information protection laws. The Commissioner is also designated as the Registrar of Lobbyists under the Lobbyists Registration Act. The Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner is located in Victoria and has a budget of $6 million and 38 dedicated  staff.

The successful applicant will be recognized as a person of high standing and integrity within his or her professional community, with demonstrated senior leadership, mediation, and investigative skills, and a strong record of achievement in public or private sector administration. Candidates should possess a thorough understanding of legal principles relating to information rights, access and privacy laws, including administrative fairness, and a commitment to the values of openness, privacy, and transparency.

The appointment is for a term of six years, and may be renewed. The salary for the position is equal to the salary paid to a Chief Judge of the Provincial Court of British Columbia.

Applications should be received by email, fax or mail at the address below no later than Friday, May 20, 2016. Although the Committee appreciates the interest of all applicants, only those who are invited for an interview will be contacted. All applications received will be held in confidence.

For further information, please visit our website or contact:

Kate Ryan-Lloyd, Deputy Clerk and Clerk of Committees
Parliamentary Committees OfficeRoom 224, Parliament BuildingsVictoria BC V8V 1X4
Tel: 250.356.2933
Toll-free in BC: 1.877.428.8337
Fax: 250.356.8172