Parliamentary Committees

Finance Committee makes 58 recommendations for Budget 2015


November 13, 2014

Legislative Assembly - Province of British Columbia

VICTORIA – The Select Standing Committee on Finance and Government Services released its report today on the public consultations for Budget 2015.

The report contains the results of the consultations on the next provincial budget, which began in September with the release of the budget consultation paper by the Minister of Finance. This year’s consultations included public hearings covering 20 communities throughout B.C. Written, audio and video submissions were also accepted, along with responses to an online survey. A total of 1782 submissions were received.

“The consultations provided an opportunity for British Columbians to participate in the budget process,” said committee chair Dan Ashton. “Today’s report summarizes what we heard and makes 58 recommendations for the provincial government to consider for Budget 2015.”

“The committee gave careful consideration to all of the input and unanimously agreed to these recommendations,” added deputy chair Carole James. “We would like to thank the many individuals and organizations that took time to participate.”

Recommendations support the goal of a balanced budget and propose ways to enhance taxation, facilitate natural resource development, and improve health and education outcomes. Other recommendations focus on community and social services, transportation, technology, and the environment.

The committee’s report, along with further information on the budget consultation process, is available at:

The members of the Select Standing Committee on Finance and Government Services are:

Dan Ashton, MLA Penticton, (chair);
Carole James, MLA Victoria-Beacon Hill, (deputy chair);
Eric Foster, MLA Vernon-Monashee;
Simon Gibson, MLA Abbotsford-Mission;
Wm. Scott Hamilton, MLA Delta North;
George Heyman, MLA Vancouver-Fairview;
Gary Holman, MLA Saanich North and the Islands;
Mike Morris, MLA Prince George-Mackenzie;
Jane Jae Kyung Shin, MLA Burnaby-Lougheed;
John Yap, MLA Richmond-Steveston.

For further Information:

Susan Sourial
Committee Clerk
Room 224, Parliament Buildings
Victoria, B.C. V8V 1X4
Telephone: 250 356-2933
Toll-free: 1-877-428-8337
Fax: 250 356-8172