Parliamentary Committees

Special Committee extends its consultation period on local elections expense limits


November 20, 2014

Legislative Assembly - Province of British Columbia

VICTORIA – The Special Committee on Local Elections Expense Limits has extended its consultation period on principles related to local elections expense limits for elector organizations and third party advertisers. Additional public hearings will be held in Victoria on Wednesday, Nov. 26, 2014 and in Surrey on Saturday, Nov. 29, 2014. The new deadline for written submissions is Friday, Dec. 5, 2014.

The committee has already received valuable submissions from stakeholders and the public, and is seeking further input on principles for the relationship between elector organizations and their endorsed candidates with respect to expense limits; and principles for establishing expense limits for third party advertisers.

“Stakeholders, including candidates, elector organizations and third party advertisers, and the public are invited to make a written submission to the committee or to register to make a presentation at the public hearings in Victoria or Surrey,” said committee chair Jackie Tegart.

“All input will be carefully considered and is critical to ensure that our recommendations to the Legislative Assembly take into account the views of British Columbians,” said deputy chair Selina Robinson.

To register to appear in-person or by teleconference, to make a written submission, or to complete the online questionnaire, please visit:

In 2015, the committee will begin work on the second phase of its mandate related to expense limit amounts for local elections candidates and for third party advertisers.

The Special Committee on Local Elections Expense Limits is an all-party committee of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia. The committee’s members are:

Jackie Tegart, MLA Fraser-Nicola (chair);
Selina Robinson, MLA Coquitlam-Maillardville(deputy chair)
Mike Bernier, MLA Peace River South;
Gary Holman, MLA Saanich North and the Islands;
Jenny Wai Ching Kwan, MLA Vancouver-Mount Pleasant;
Linda Reimer, MLA Port Moody-Coquitlam;
Sam Sullivan, MLA Vancouver-False Creek;

For further information:

Kate Ryan-Lloyd
Deputy Clerk and Clerk of Committees
Parliament Buildings
Victoria, B.C. V8V 1X4
Telephone: 250 356-2933 (collect)
Toll-free: 1-877-428-8337
Fax: 250 356-8172