Parliamentary Committees

Children and Youth Committee extends deadline for public input on youth mental health


July 25, 2014

Legislative Assembly - Province of British Columbia

VICTORIA –The Select Standing Committee on Children and Youth has extended the deadline for written submissions as part of its inquiry into youth mental health in British Columbia.

The committee is seeking public input from stakeholders and interested citizens on how to improve current service delivery and target future resources to treat and prevent youth mental health issues.

“British Columbians are invited to share their ideas with us on how to best meet the needs of youth and families affected by mental health issues,” said committee chair Jane Thornthwaite. “The committee will be giving careful consideration to all public input received,” added deputy chair Carole James.

To make a written submission, or to learn more about the work of the committee, please visit:

The call for written submissions closes on Friday, September 19, 2014.

The Select Standing Committee on Children and Youth is an all-party committee of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia.

The committee members are:

Jane Thornthwaite, MLA North Vancouver-Seymour (chair);
Carole James, MLA Victoria-Beacon Hill) (deputy chair); 
Donna Barnett, MLA Cariboo-Chilcotin);
Mike Bernier, MLA Peace River South;
Doug Donaldson, MLA Stikine;
Maurine Karagianis, MLA Esquimalt-Royal Roads;
John Martin, MLA Chilliwack;
Dr. Darryl Plecas, MLA Abbotsford South;
Jennifer Rice, MLA North Coast;
Dr. Moira Stilwell, MLA Vancouver-Langara.

For further Information:

Kate Ryan-Lloyd
Deputy Clerk and Clerk of Committees
Room 224, Parliament Buildings
Victoria, B.C. V8V 1X4
Telephone: 250 356-2933
Toll-free: 1-877-428-8337
Fax: 250 356-8172