Parliamentary Committees

Health Committee seeks input on the quality and sustainability of B.C. health care system


June 9, 2016

Legislative Assembly – Province of British Columbia

VICTORIA – The all-party Select Standing Committee on Health has launched a new public consultation on the sustainability and quality of B.C.'s health care system. In particular, the committee invites input on the following questions:

  1. How can we improve health and health care services in rural British Columbia? In particular, what long-term solutions can address the challenges of recruitment and retention of health care professionals in rural British Columbia?
  2. How can we create a cost-effective system of primary and community care built around interdisciplinary teams?
  3. How can we enhance the effectiveness of addiction recovery programs?

British Columbians may participate in the consultation process by attending a public hearing or by making a written, audio, or video submission.

"The submissions received to date have been very helpful as we identify health care sustainability and quality strategies," said committee chair Linda Larson. "We would like to engage further as we seek to build on the input received through our next round of consultations."

"British Columbians rely on our health care system to support them, live well and plan for a healthy future," noted deputy chair Judy Darcy. "The input we receive will be invaluable in ensuring that our final committee report reflects values and actions that British Columbians support."

The committee will hold public hearings in the following locations: Victoria, Vancouver, Prince George and Kamloops. A conference call option will be available for those unable to attend in person.

To learn more about the committee or how to participate in the consultation, please visit the
committee's website:

The deadline for submissions is: Friday, July 29, 2016.

The members of the Select Standing Committee on Health are:

Linda Larson, MLA (Boundary-Similkameen), chair;
Judy Darcy, MLA (New Westminster), deputy chair;
Donna Barnett, MLA (Cariboo-Chilcotin);
Dr. Doug Bing, MLA (Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows);
Marc Dalton, MLA (Maple Ridge-Mission);
Sue Hammell, MLA (Surrey-Green Timbers);
Dr. Darryl Plecas, MLA (Abbotsford South);
Selina Robinson, MLA (Coquitlam-Maillardville);
Jane Jae Kyung Shin, MLA (Burnaby-Lougheed);
Sam Sullivan, MLA (Vancouver-False Creek).

For further information:
Susan Sourial
Clerk Assistant, Committees and Interparliamentary Relations
Room 224, Parliament Buildings Victoria, B.C., V8V 1X4
Telephone: 250 356-2933 (collect)
Toll-free: 1 877 428-8337
Fax: 250 356-8172