Parliamentary Committees

Finance Committee announces Budget 2017 public consultation schedule


Aug. 12, 2016

Legislative Assembly - Province of British Columbia

VICTORIA – The all-party Select Standing Committee on Finance and Government Services announced its public hearing schedule for the Budget 2017 consultation process. This year, the committee will travel to 15 communities to hear from interested individuals and organizations about their fiscal priorities. Videoconference opportunities are available for an additional eight communities.

The consultation period opens in conjunction with the release of the Budget 2017 Consultation Paper prepared by the Ministry of Finance. British Columbians are invited to participate by presenting at a public hearing, making a written, audio or video submission, or completing an online survey. “Public hearings are a vital component of the committee’s work,” said committee chair Wm. Scott Hamilton, MLA. “We need to hear from British Columbians on how they would prioritize fiscal sustainability with spending on health, education, and social programs, and investments in critical infrastructure, among other priorities.”

The committee will hold public hearings in the following locations:

Vancouver Monday, Sept. 19
Cranbrook Tuesday, Sept. 20
Kamloops Tuesday, Sept. 20
Kelowna Wednesday, Sept. 21
Richmond Wednesday, Sept. 21
Surrey Thursday, Sept. 22
Victoria* Monday, Sept. 26
Prince Rupert Monday, Oct. 3
Dawson Creek Tuesday, Oct. 4
Prince George Tuesday, Oct. 4
Quesnel Wednesday, Oct. 5
Port Hardy Wednesday, Oct. 5
Courtenay Thursday, Oct. 6
Delta Thursday, Oct. 6
Victoria* Tuesday, Oct. 11

*Video/teleconference opportunities for Fort St. John, Fort Nelson, Williams Lake, Smithers, Castlegar, Vernon, Terrace, and Penticton.

Added deputy chair Carole James, MLA, “The committee wants to ensure that Budget 2017 represents a collaborative process and reflects input from a broad cross-section of British Columbians. We look forward to hearing from many individuals and groups about their fiscal priorities.”

Public hearing registration will open on Tuesday, Sept. 6, 2016. Further information regarding the budget consultation process and how to participate is available at:

Budget consultations are held annually in accordance with the Budget Transparency and Accountability Act. The deadline for public input is Friday, Oct. 14, 2016 and the committee will release a report on the results of its consultations by Nov. 15, 2016.

The members of the committee are:

Wm. Scott Hamilton, MLA (Delta North), chair;
Carole James, MLA (Victoria-Beacon Hill) deputy chair;
Dan Ashton, MLA (Penticton);
Robin Austin, MLA (Skeena);
Eric Foster, MLA (Vernon-Monashee);
Simon Gibson, MLA (Abbotsford-Mission);
George Heyman, MLA (Vancouver-Fairview);
Jennifer Rice, MLA (North Coast);
Jackie Tegart, MLA (Fraser-Nicola);
John Yap, MLA (Richmond-Steveston).

For further information:
Kate Ryan-Lloyd Deputy Clerk and Clerk of Committees
Room 224, Parliament Buildings
Victoria, B.C., V8V 1X4
Telephone: 250 356-2933 (collect)
Toll-free: 1 877 428-8337
Fax: 250 356-8172