Parliamentary Committees

Finance Committee opens public consultation on Budget 2017


September 15, 2016

Legislative Assembly - Province of British Columbia

VICTORIA – The all-party Select Standing Committee on Finance and Government Services opened its public consultations on the next provincial budget. The consultations are based on the Budget 2017 Consultation Paper released by the Minister of Finance today.

The committee will travel to 14 communities to gather input from British Columbians regarding priorities for the 2017 provincial budget. The committee will also offer video and teleconferencing options for eight additional communities. Other opportunities to participate include completing an online survey or submitting a written, audio, or video submission to the committee before the Friday, Oct. 14, 2016 deadline.

“We look forward to visiting communities around the province to hear from British Columbians regarding the 2017 provincial budget,” said committee chair Wm. Scott Hamilton. “Each year, many innovative and thoughtful ideas are put forward and I expect this year’s consultation will again yield valuable information for our deliberations.”

“Public input really is at the heart of the committee’s work,” added deputy chair Carole James. “Allocation of the provincial budget underpins many aspects of our lives in B.C. and I hope British Columbians take the time to share their priorities for the upcoming budget.”

Public consultations on the provincial budget are held annually in accordance with the Budget Transparency and Accountability Act. The committee must release a report on the results of its consultations by Nov. 15, 2016.

The members of the committee are:

Wm. Scott Hamilton, MLA (Delta North), chair;
Carole James, MLA (Victoria-Beacon Hill) deputy chair;
Dan Ashton, MLA (Penticton);
Robin Austin, MLA (Skeena);
Eric Foster, MLA (Vernon-Monashee);
Simon Gibson, MLA (Abbotsford-Mission);
George Heyman, MLA (Vancouver-Fairview);
Jennifer Rice, MLA (North Coast);
Jackie Tegart, MLA (Fraser-Nicola);
John Yap, MLA (Richmond-Steveston).

For further information:
Susan Sourial
Clerk Assistant, Committees and Interparliamentary Relations
Room 224, Parliament Buildings
Victoria, B.C., V8V 1X4
Telephone: 250 356-2933 (collect)
Toll-free: 1 877 428-8337
Fax: 250 356-8172