Parliamentary Committees

Bernard Richard Appointed as Acting Representative for Children and Youth


Nov. 15, 2016

Legislative Assembly – Province of British Columbia

VICTORIA – The all-party Select Standing Committee on Children and Youth released the following statement this afternoon:

Select Standing Committee Members were pleased that earlier today the Special Committee to Appoint a Representative for Children and Youth released its unanimous report recommending Bernard Richard for appointment as Representative. Mr. Richard served as Ombudsman and Child and Youth Advocate for the province of New Brunswick, with extensive experience in public service, managing non-partisan independent organizations, and working collaboratively with indigenous leaders and communities.

The Select Standing Committee on Children and Youth considered Mr. Richard’s extensive experience and qualifications, and unanimously appointed him as Acting Representative for Children and Youth, commencing on November 27, 2016, the date upon which the current Representative’s term concludes.

Mr. Richard’s appointment as Acting Representative will ensure a smooth transition for the Office of the Representative for Children and Youth, and its important work on behalf of British Columbia’s children and youth, and their families. He is expected to continue in the Acting Representative position until an appointment is made by the Legislative Assembly as Representative under section 2 of the Act in early 2017.

The Members of the Select Standing Committee for Children and Youth are:
Jane Thornthwaite, MLA (North Vancouver–Seymour), chair;
Melanie Mark, MLA (Vancouver-Mount Pleasant), deputy chair;
Marc Dalton, MLA (Maple Ridge-Mission);
Carole James, MLA (Victoria–Beacon Hill);
Maurine Karagianis, MLA (Esquimalt–Royal Roads);
John Martin, MLA (Chilliwack);
Don McRae, MLA (Comox Valley);
Dr. Darryl Plecas, MLA (Abbotsford South);
Linda Reimer, MLA (Port Moody-Coquitlam);
Jennifer Rice, MLA (North Coast).

For further information:
Kate Ryan-Lloyd
Deputy Clerk and Clerk of Committees
Room 224, Parliament Buildings
Victoria, B.C., V8V 1X4
Telephone: 250 356-2933 (collect)
Toll-free: 1 877 428-8337
Fax: 250 356-8172

Children and Youth Committee