Parliamentary Committees

Public consultation begins on the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act


July 29, 2015

Legislative Assembly – Province of British Columbia

VICTORIA ––The all-party Special Committee to Review the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act is undertaking a comprehensive review of the act. This is the fourth statutory review of the act by a committee of the Legislature. Adopted in 1992, the act promotes openness and transparency in the public sector by giving individuals access rights to records in the custody or control of public bodies. It also includes privacy protection rules regarding the collection, use, disclosure, storage, and retention of personal information by public bodies.

“The committee will be taking a close look at how well the act is working,” said committee chair Don McRae. “It was amended following the last review, and we want to find out whether further changes are necessary or desirable.”

“The committee will be seeking input from the public, the Information and Privacy Commissioner for British Columbia, public bodies, advocacy groups, and other stakeholders,” said deputy chair Doug Routley. “We invite all British Columbians with an interest in access to information and privacy to participate in the committee’s consultation process.”

The consultation includes a call for written submissions and opportunities to present at public hearings in Victoria on October 9, 2015, in Vancouver on October 16, 2015, and November 9, 2015, and by videoconference in Nelson and Prince George on November 18, 2015. To learn more, please visit the committee website at:

The consultation period closes on Friday, January 29, 2016.

The Special Committee to Review the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act is an all-party committee of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia. The committee members are:

Don McRae, MLA chair (Comox Valley)
Doug Routley, MLA, deputy chair (Nanaimo-North Cowichan)
Kathy Corrigan, MLA (Burnaby-Deer Lake)
David Eby, MLA (Vancouver-Point Grey)
Eric Foster, MLA (Vernon-Monashee)
Sam Sullivan, MLA (Vancouver-False Creek)
Jackie Tegart, MLA (Fraser-Nicola)
John Yap, MLA (Richmond-Steveston)

For further Information:

Susan Sourial
Committee Clerk
Room 224, Parliament Buildings
Victoria, B.C. V8V 1X4
250 356-2933 (collect)
Toll-free: 1-877-428-8337
Fax: 250 356-8172