

CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER

SPECIAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT A CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER

Chair: Jagrup Brar, MLA (Surrey-Fleetwood)

Deputy Chair: Doug Clovechok, MLA (Columbia River-Revelstoke)

The Chief Electoral Officer is a non-partisan, independent officer of the Legislature responsible for the fair, impartial and efficient administration of electoral events in B.C. In addition to duties provided by the *Election Act*, the Chief Electoral Officer holds responsibilities outlined in the *Referendum Act*, the *Recall and Initiative Act*, and the *Local Elections Campaign Financing Act*. The Chief Electoral Officer leads Elections BC, located in Victoria.

The successful non-partisan applicant will be recognized as a person with a high level of integrity, demonstrated senior leadership and exceptional communication and interpersonal skills. The position requires a strong ability to interpret, apply and understand electoral law, processes and administration.

The appointment is for a term of two provincial general elections plus one year, and the position is eligible for reappointment. The salary is equal to the salary paid to a Chief Judge of the Provincial Court of British Columbia.

Applications should be received by email, fax or mail at the address below no later than **Friday**, **February 16**, **2018**. Although the Committee appreciates the interest of all applicants, only those who are invited for an interview will be contacted. All applications received will be held in confidence.

For further information, please visit our website at www.leg.bc.ca/cmt/ceo or contact:

Parliamentary Committees Office

Room 224 Parliament Buildings Victoria B.C. V8V 1X4 Kate Ryan-Lloyd, Deputy Clerk and Clerk of Committees T 250-356-2933 Toll Free in B.C. 1-877-428-8337 F 250-356-8172 ChiefElectoralOfficer@leg.bc.ca