

MEDIA RELEASE

November 15, 2021

Finance Committee releases report on Budget 2022 consultation

VICTORIA – The Select Standing Committee on Finance and Government Services released its report on the Budget 2022 consultation today with 143 recommendations for the next provincial budget.

The report provides a comprehensive summary of the issues, challenges, and solutions shared by British Columbians across a range of policy areas with housing affordability and supply, climate change, and emergency preparedness emerging as areas requiring urgent and immediate action, and health and education continuing to be significant priorities.

"British Columbians stressed the social and economic consequences of not addressing urgent challenges, particularly with respect to the climate crisis, and offered a number of solutions," said Committee Chair Janet Routledge. "The Committee also heard about the importance of tackling systemic barriers and inequities and ensuring that reconciliation is foundational to all decisions across all sectors."

"Throughout the consultation, we heard how upfront investments in prevention and early intervention will save on downstream costs," added Deputy Chair Ben Stewart. "The next budget is a critical opportunity to pursue creative solutions to enable this work and position the province to address critical challenges such as housing."

The Committee's consultation began on June 30, 2021 coinciding with the release of the *Budget 2022 Consultation Paper* by the Minister of Finance and concluded September 30, 2021. During the consultation, the Committee heard 347 presentations, the most in the history of the consultation, and received 710 written submissions and 1,417 responses to an online survey.

The report is available at: www.leg.bc.ca/cmt/finance

The members of the Select Standing Committee on Finance and Government Services are: Janet Routledge, MLA, Burnaby North (Chair);
Ben Stewart, MLA, Kelowna West (Deputy Chair);
Pam Alexis, MLA, Abbotsford-Mission;
Lorne Doerkson, MLA, Cariboo-Chilcotin;
Megan Dykeman, MLA, Langley East;
Greg Kyllo, MLA, Shuswap;
Grace Lore, MLA, Victoria-Beacon Hill;
Harwinder Sandhu, MLA, Vernon-Monashee; and

Mike Starchuk, MLA, Surrey Cloverdale.

For further information:
Jennifer Arril
Clerk of Committees
Room 224 Parliament Buildings
Victoria, BC V8V 1X4
FinanceCommittee@leg.bc.ca