

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

April 28, 2022

Special Committee on Reforming the Police Act releases report

VICTORIA – The Special Committee on Reforming the Police Act released its report today with 11 recommendations to transform policing and community safety.

The Legislative Assembly appointed the Committee to undertake a broad inquiry into policing and related systemic issues. The Committee received briefings from ministries, oversight agencies, and statutory officers as well as Indigenous communities and organizations regarding the policing landscape in BC. In total, 411 organizations and individuals from across the province made presentations and written submissions to the Committee during the public consultation. Over 1,400 British Columbians provided input on their experiences and perspectives regarding policing and related systemic issues via a survey.

"British Columbians highlighted significant challenges in the structure and delivery of police services which have contributed to a lack of trust in these services," said committee chair Doug Routley. "The committee's report outlines a new vision of policing and community safety rooted in decolonization, anti-racism, community, and accountability."

"Police have become the default first responders to mental health and other complex social issues due to a lack of alternatives and supports," added deputy chair Dan Davies. "Significant investments into a continuum of response, as well as increased coordination and integration across sectors, are needed."

"Our recommendations aim to ensure equitable access to high quality police and community safety services across the province and provide police officers with the tools and supports they need to deliver these services." added Routley.

Further information about the committee, including its report, is available at: www.leg.bc.ca/cmt/rpa

The members of the committee are:
Doug Routley, MLA Nanaimo-North Cowichan (chair)
Dan Davies, MLA Peace River North (deputy chair)
Garry Begg, MLA Surrey-Guildford
Rick Glumac, MLA Port Moody-Coquitlam
Trevor Halford, MLA Surrey-White Rock
Karin Kirkpatrick, MLA West Vancouver-Capilano
Grace Lore, MLA Victoria-Beacon Hill

Adam Olsen, MLA Saanich North and the Islands Harwinder Sandhu, MLA Vernon-Monashee Rachna Singh, MLA Surrey-Green Timbers

For further information: Karan Riarh Committee Clerk Room 224 Parliament Buildings Victoria BC V8V 1X4 T 250-356-2933 Toll Free in BC 1-877-428-8337

Fax: 250-356-8172

PoliceActReform@leg.bc.ca