Parliamentary Committees

Advertisement: Ombudsperson

L E G I S L A T I V E   A S S E M B L Y   O F   B R I T I S H   C O L U M B I A

Special Committee to Appoint an Ombudsperson

Chair: John Martin, MLA (Chilliwack) Deputy Chair: Rob Fleming, MLA (Victoria-Swan Lake)

The Legislative Assembly of British Columbia has established an all-party Special Committee to Appoint an Ombudsperson. The Committee is mandated to unanimously recommend to the Legislative Assembly the appointment of an Ombudsperson for the Province of British Columbia.

The Ombudsperson is a non-partisan, independent Statutory Officer of the Legislature who supports the public accountability of provincial public sector organizations by investigating enquiries and complaints about the actions or decisions of these organizations.

To this end, the Ombudsperson administers processes established by the Ombudsperson Act for investigating complaints about administrative actions or decisions of BC government ministries, Crown corporations, local governments, educational and health authorities, and the governing bodies of occupations and professions.

An expert in administrative and procedural fairness, the Ombudsperson leads a team of approximately 35 dedicated staff, with a further 14 shared services staff supporting the Office and the offices of three other Statutory Officers. The Office receives over 7,000 enquiries and complaints annually.

The successful applicant will have recognized professional credentials and demonstrated skills in leadership and collaborative problem-solving as well as a solid record of accomplishment in public or private sector administration. The preferred candidate should also possess experience in leading sensitive and complex investigations, a good understanding of the role, responsibilities and activities of the Office of the Ombudsperson and its relationship to the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia, and knowledge of the provincial public sector.

The appointment is for a term of six years, and may be renewed. The Office of the Ombudsperson is located in the provincial capital of Victoria.

Applications should be received by fax, email or mail at the address below no later than Friday, April 10, 2015. Although the Special Committee appreciates the interest of all applicants, only those who are invited for an interview will be contacted. All applications received will be held in confidence.
Kate Ryan-Lloyd, Deputy Clerk
and Clerk of Committees
Tel: 250.356.2933
Toll-free in BC: 1.877.428.8337
Parliamentary Committees Office
Room 224, Parliament Buildings
Victoria BC V8V 1X4
Fax: 250.356.8172