Parliamentary Committees

Public consultations on the administration and general operations of the Independent Investigations Office


June 20, 2014

Legislative Assembly - Province of British Columbia

VICTORIA – The Special Committee to Review the Independent Investigations Office (IIO) today launched a public consultation on the IIO’s work. Established in 2011, the civilian-led IIO investigates incidents of serious harm and death involving BC police officers. Section 38.13 of the Police Act requires a comprehensive review of the IIO’s administration and general operations by an all-party Special Committee of the Legislative Assembly.

“The committee is examining B.C.’s Independent Investigations Office,” said Committee Chair Mike Morris. “We are seeking input from British Columbians on the effectiveness of its administration and general operations.”

“We look forward to learning about the IIO, and how its work might be improved,” said Deputy Chair Spencer Chandra Herbert. “The committee will be examining all submissions and reporting on its conclusions to the Legislative Assembly.”

For more information on the work of the committee and to make a submission, please visit the committee website at:

The call for public input closes on Sept. 26, 2014.

The Special Committee’s members are:

Mike Morris, MLA Prince George-Mackenzie (chair);
Spencer Chandra Herbert, MLA Vancouver-West End (deputy chair);
Dr. Doug Bing, MLA Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows;
Kathy Corrigan, MLA Burnaby-Deer Lake;
Scott Fraser, MLA Alberni-Pacific Rim;
Scott Hamilton, MLA Delta North;
Dr. Darryl Plecas, MLA Abbotsford South;
Jackie Tegart, MLA Fraser-Nicola.

For further Information:

Susan Sourial
Committee Clerk
Room 224, Parliament Buildings
Victoria, B.C. V8V 1X4
Telephone: 250 356-2933
Deputy Clerk and Clerk of Committees
Toll-free: 1-877-428-8337
Fax: 250 356-8172