Parliamentary Committees

Special Committee extends deadline for submissions on Independent Investigations Office review


October 6, 2014

Legislative Assembly - Province of British Columbia

VICTORIA –The Special Committee to Review the Independent Investigations Office (IIO) is extending its deadline for written submissions on the IIO’s administration and general operations. The new deadline for written submissions is Friday, October 31, 2014.

The IIO was established in 2011 as BC’s civilian-led agency which investigates incidents of serious harm and death involving BC police officers. The Police Act requires a comprehensive review of the IIO’s administration and general operations by an all-party Special Committee of the Legislative Assembly.

The Committee will also hold a public hearing in Victoria on October 29, 2014.

“The Committee has received some meaningful submissions and we would like to encourage further input from British Columbians,” said committee chair Mike Morris. “All submissions will be carefully considered as we prepare our report and recommendations,” added deputy chair Spencer Chandra Herbert.

To make a written submission or to register to make a presentation and to learn more about the work of the committee, please visit:

The Special Committee to Review the Independent Investigations Office is an all-party committee of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia. The committee members are:

Mike Morris, MLA Prince George-Mackenzie (chair);
Spencer Chandra Herbert, MLA Vancouver-West End (deputy chair);
Dr. Doug Bing, MLA Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows;
Kathy Corrigan, MLA Burnaby-Deear Lake;
Wm. Scott Hamilton, MLA Delta North;
Dr. Darryl Plecas, MLA Abbotsford South;
Jane Jae Kyung Shin, MLA Burnaby-Lougheed;
Jackie Tegart, MLA Fraser-Nicola.

For further information:

Susan Sourial, Committee Clerk
Room 224, Parliament Buildings
Fax: 250 356-8172
Victoria, B.C. V8V 1X4
Telephone: 250 356-2933 (collect)
Toll-free: 1-877-428-8337