Parliamentary Committees

Parliamentary committee releases report on transportation network companies

Feb. 15, 2018

Parliamentary committee releases report on transportation network companies


VICTORIA-The all-party Select Standing Committee on Crown Corporations today released its unanimous report including 32 recommendations related to ride-hailing and the operation of transportation network companies (TNCs) in B.C. TNCs provide app-based transportation services using privately owned vehicles.

The committee supported a provincewide approach to governing TNCs and highlighted key issues to consider when developing a ride-hailing regulatory regime, including the potential impacts on British Columbians and their communities.

"It's important that any provincial regulatory regime developed takes into account the need for fairness, consumer protections, and workers' rights in an ever-changing economy," said committee chair Bowinn Ma. "Public safety, including appropriate driver screening, vehicle inspections and insurance are paramount."

The committee report highlighted the importance of collecting and monitoring data to ensure that future decision-making for TNCs is evidence-based. The committee also put forward recommendations related to vehicle safety, accessibility, and the provision of insurance products for TNCs and their drivers.

"TNCs will provide new opportunities and increased choice for British Columbians across the province including small and rural communities," added committee deputy chair Stephanie Cadieux. "The committee appreciates the interest in B.C.'s sharing economy and the input received from expert witnesses who participated in the committee's work."

The committee, appointed by the legislative assembly on November 28, 2017, invited 67 expert witnesses to present at a public hearing or to provide a written submission.

The committee's report is available at: 

The members of the committee are:

Bowinn Ma, MLA North Vancouver-Lonsdale (chair)
Stephanie Cadieux, MLA Surrey South (deputy chair)
Spencer Chandra Herbert, MLA Vancouver-West End
Jas Johal, MLA Richmond-Queensborough
Ravi Kahlon, MLA Delta North
Peter Milobar, MLA Kamloops-North Thompson
Rachna Singh, MLA Surrey-Green Timbers
Jordan Sturdy, MLA West Vancouver-Sea to Sky
Dr. Andrew Weaver, MLA Oak Bay-Gordon Head

For further information:
Susan Sourial
Clerk Assistant, Committees and Interparliamentary Relations
Room 224 Parliament Buildings
Victoria BC V8V 1X4
T 250-356-2933
Toll Free in BC 1-877-428-8337