Parliamentary Committees

Special Committee Appoints Acting Police Complaint Commissioner


February 1, 2018

Media Release


VICTORIA- Clayton Pecknold has been appointed as Acting Police Complaint Commissioner, following his unanimous appointment by the all-party Special Committee to Appoint a Police Complaint Commissioner earlier this week. Effective immediately, Mr. Pecknold will serve as Acting Commissioner until a full five-year term appointment is expected to be made by the Legislative Assembly later this month, pursuant to section 47 the Police Act.

Mr. Pecknold was unanimously recommended for appointment as Commissioner by the Special Committee on Dec. 12, 2018. The acting appointment follows the retirement of the former Police Complaint Commissioner, Stan Lowe, on Jan. 31, 2019, and ensures continuity for the Office of the Police Complaint Commissioner.

The members of the committee are:
Rachna Singh, MLA Surrey-Green Timbers (chair)
Mike Morris, MLA Prince George-Mackenzie (deputy chair)
Garry Begg, MLA Surrey-Guildford
Rich Coleman, MLA Langley East
Adam Olsen, MLA Saanich North and the Islands

For further information:
Kate Ryan-Lloyd
Acting Clerk of the Legislative Assembly
Room 224, Parliament Buildings
Victoria, B.C., V8V 1X4
Telephone: 250 356-2933 (collect)
Toll-free: 1 877 428-8337
Fax: 250 356-8172