Parliamentary Committees

Special Committee on Reforming the Police Act Consultation Open


Special Committee on Reforming the Police Act Consultation Open

VICTORIA – The Special Committee on Reforming the Police Act is now accepting submissions as part of its consultation. The Legislative Assembly appointed this all-party special committee to undertake an inquiry into policing, including examining the role of police with respect to complex social issues; examining the scope of systemic racism within BC's police agencies; and ensuring consistency of a modernized Police Act with the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

“Committee members are considering a broad range of issues pertaining to the public safety continuum,” said committee chair Doug Routley. “We are looking forward to engaging with British Columbians and hearing about their views, experiences and solutions for reforming and improving the provision of public safety in BC.”

“The committee recognizes that there are complex, systemic challenges and barriers as well as intersections with many health and social issues,” added deputy chair Dan Davies. “We hope to facilitate the participation of a diverse range of stakeholders on the significant matters before us.”

British Columbians are invited to share their input by making a written, audio or video submission by Friday, April 30. Following the submission deadline, interested individuals and organizations may be invited to present to the Committee. All hearings will be conducted by video/teleconference. The committee is taking a phased approach to its inquiry and additional opportunities to participate will be available at a later stage. For more details on the committee’s consultation, please visit its website at or contact the Parliamentary Committees Office at 250-356-2933 or 1-877-428-8337 (toll-free in BC).

The members of the committee are: Doug Routley, MLA Nanaimo-North Cowichan (chair)
Dan Davies, MLA Peace River North (deputy chair)
Garry Begg, MLA Surrey-Guildford
Rick Glumac, MLA Port Moody-Coquitlam
Trevor Halford, MLA Surrey-White Rock
Karin Kirkpatrick, MLA West Vancouver-Capilano
Grace Lore, MLA Victoria-Beacon Hill
Adam Olsen, MLA Saanich North and the Islands
Harwinder Sandhu, MLA Vernon Monashee
Rachna Singh, MLA Surrey-Green Timbers

For further information:

Karan Riarh
Clerk to the Special Committee on Reforming the Police Act
Room 224 Parliament Buildings
Victoria BC V8V 1X4
T 250-356-2933
Toll Free in BC 1-877-428-8337
Fax: 250-356-8172